Understanding the G8

The G8 is the assembly of eight world leaders from eight nations who meet each year to discuss global issues. Every year the Heads of State holds a Leader’s Summit and they discuss global issues and attempt to reconcile global issues. It is known that there is a yearly G8 Summit, but minister’s work throughout the year on important contemporary issues like climate change and the economy.
The G8 nations are Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, United Kingdom and the United States. The 2013 G8 Summit will be held in June at the Lough Erne Golf Resort in Fermanagh County. Because Latin America, Africa, India and China is excluded from the G8 nations there are often accusations from those countries that the priorities of the G8 fail to represent the whole developing world. It does seem strange that countries like India and China who have such rapid economic growth are not one of the G8 countries.
Each year the member countries change the place where the summit is held as well as to which country leader to hold the G8 Summit Presidency. It is the hosting country’s responsibility to set the agenda and plan discussions and meetings as well as the security of the ministers and Heads of State attending the summit.
William Hague , the United Kingdom’s Foreign secretary, who is the United Kingdom’s G8 Minister revealed in a recent interview that some of the priorities on the agenda, besides the usual agenda will be; Deauville Partnership with Arab Countries in Transition, Cyber, Somalia, Burma and Preventing Sexual Violence Initiative.
Climate change, environmental protection, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, stability and security across West Africa and North Africa, the situation in the Middle East, which includes Iran and Syria will also be on the agenda during the 2013 G8 Summit.